Car accidents occur every day in Florida, and over 140,000 crashes were reported with injured individuals between 2020 and 2021. It may be challenging to prove negligence and liability in a personal injury claim after an accident. If you have been involved in a rideshare auto accident, you may be wondering what your options are and how fault is determined in the case of an accident. At Marsalisi Law, we understand your case, and our attorney is dedicated to helping you attain the compensation you deserve. Below you will find more information about rideshare coverage and how fault is determined after a rideshare accident in Florida.
Florida Auto Insurance and Rideshare Coverage
Florida’s requirement for auto insurance of any vehicle is a minimum of $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 in Property Damage Liability (PDL). Popular rideshare companies such as Uber and Lyft require their drivers to carry their own auto insurance for their vehicles. However, they offer coverage in the case of an accident that goes into effect once a driver accepts a ride until it is completed. Many drivers also choose to elect additional coverage for their rideshare services with their auto insurance.
Rideshare car accident policies generally offer additional coverage for an accident but are only used whenever the driver’s insurance does not fully cover the damage and liability. There are limitations in uninsured/underinsured motorists’ bodily injury, contingent comprehensive & collision up to the car’s cash value, and other matters of a covered accident. When a driver is liable for the accident, their insurance and rideshare coverage typically covers the cost of damages and injuries.
Who Is Liable in a Florida Rideshare Accident?
Determining fault after a car accident is an integral part of any claim. If you have been in an accident caused by a rideshare driver, seeking a skilled personal injury lawyer can help you feel at ease and gather all the information you need for a personal injury claim. There are various ways that Florida’s liability and negligence can be determined or proven for auto accidents.
The possible liable parties in a rideshare accident can include:
- The rideshare driver;
- Another driver in the accident;
- A bicyclist at-fault;
- A pedestrian at-fault;
- Car manufacturer or parts dealer;
- Other parties or individuals.
Depending on the cause of the accident and the severity of the injuries and damage you have endured, it may take some time to collect evidence along with the information needed to complete your claim. Injured individuals often have lengthy lawsuits due to the continual treatment and extent of injuries that add to the totality of damage and personal injury, often beyond the minimum coverage.
How Can a Lawyer Help Me after a Rideshare Auto Accident?
Although Florida has No-Fault Law, making a person’s own Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance coverage primary to cover 80% of medical bills and 60% lost wages up to $10,000.00, you are still able to pursue the amounts not covered under PIP from an at-fault party in a personal injury claim. A skilled legal personal injury attorney who understands the law can help you gather the information you need for a successful claim.
Your attorney can evaluate the details of your accident and how it occurred, along with the injuries, damages, short-term effects, and long-term effects of the accident on you. Often, rideshare drivers work long hours and drive many hours a day, leading to driver fatigue, road rage, impatience behind the wheel, and other factors contributing to an accident. Whether you were a passenger, another driver, or directly affected by an auto accident that a rideshare driver caused, a legal team can help you.
Contact Marsalisi Law for Professional Legal Advice in Your Personal Injury Claim After a Rideshare Accident
Marsalisi Law understands the law and complexity of rideshare accident cases. When you have suffered injuries from a rideshare accident, you have a right to seek compensation for the pain, suffering, losses, and damage you have endured. Our attorney Frank P. Marsalisi can evaluate your case and provide the best legal counsel. Call our law firm at (727) 800-5052 or fill out our contact form to speak to our legal team and schedule a free consultation. We also speak Spanish.
Marsalisi Law is Where Law Gets Personal!